top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNahari Leija

Parent-Teacher Conference: Sandwich Technique

Story-time: When designing a storyboard scenario it is important to take into consideration different principles that could enhance the eLearning object. When I designed my storyboard, I took some scenario-based eLearning principles into consideration as suggested by Ruth Clark and Richard Mayer in Scenario-Based E-Learning : Evidence-Based Guidelines for Online Workforce Learning.



Principles

Application

Intrinsic Feedback

​Although the learner did not receive immediate instructional feedback, in the eLearning object the learner will receive intrinsic feedback by observing the character's body language and reactions after the learner has made a decision.

Delayed Feedback

​Since the learner is practicing how to implement a process in parent-teacher conferences, I implemented delayed feedback. The feedback is given at the end of the lesson, the learner must either try again if they did not do the process correctly.

Solution Process

In this eLearning object, I wanted the learner to focus on the process instead of the final product. The learner is supposed to apply the sandwich technique in parent-teacher conferences by saying something positive about the student, presenting the problem, then providing a solution.

Instructional Design Strategy:

Experiential Learning - In this eLearning object learners were required to reflect on their experiences and apply it into the scenario.



Meta Moments

A-ha Moment: At first, I struggled to make a branching scenario since I could only imagine demonstrating the technique in a linear scenario. However, after discussing it with my professor, I realized how I could teach the sandwich technique in a branching scenario by giving the learner the opportunity to make mistakes and experience different outcomes.

Uh-Oh Moment: I got stuck on trying to create different possible responses and outcomes for the scenario, however, I overcame this challenge by reflecting on my previous experiences and imagining a real life scenario where things could end wrong or with a good result.


If I could go back in time...


If I were to design the eLearning object again, I would include a knowledge check. Originally, I did want to include a knowledge check but I struggled imagining how that would look like, hence I decided to not include one. However, next time I would include a knowledge check that presented the learner with different scenarios and would ask the learner what they would do next.



Storyboard Scenario



High Level eLearning Document






References


Clark, R. C., & Mayer, R. E. (2012). Scenario-based e-learning : Evidence-based guidelines for online workforce learning. Center for Creative Leadership.


Community of Literacy Toronto. (2013). Instructional strategies: Literacy basics. Literacy Basics RSS2. Retrieved March 20, 2022, from https://literacybasics.ca/training/instructional-strategies/



50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Design and Development PBT is such a bop.

As a teacher, I constantly had to develop lesson plans and conduct formative evaluations in my classroom to see what I could improve in and what skills my students were lacking. Although, I haven't do

bottom of page